RSU Golf Players, Coach Earn Conference Honors

Rogers State women’s golf had three Hillcats earn postseason all-conference honors by the MIAA, announced the association Wednesday morning. Junior Jessica Green led the honors after being named the MIAA Player of the Year. Whitney Hocutt was also named the MIAA Coach of the Year.

Green, a junior from Cape Town, South Africa, is ranked No. 116 in all of Division II women’s golf, per GolfStat. She led the team in stroke average with a 76.75 in 12 rounds, and holds the Rogers State season-low round of 70, set at the Natural State Golf Classic in early March.

Green has finished in the top 10 in five-of-her-six events this spring, including a top medalist position at the Hillcat Classic on March 15-16 where she fired a four-over par 148 (73-75). Green also earned All-MIAA First Team honors.

In her fourth year at Rogers State, Hocutt was voted by her peers as the conference’s Coach of the Year for the first time in her career. She led her Hillcats to a current No. 5 ranking in the Central Region. She has engineered two first-place team finishes and a runner-up placing during the spring season.

Hocutt’s Hillcat squad has not finished lower than fifth-place in any of the six spring events and the Hillcats are trying to secure the program’s first women’s golf MIAA championship, when Rogers State competes in the 2021 Championship from April 22-23 in Bartlesville, Okla.

Senior Sydney Murray also received all-conference honors, as she was named an All-MIAA Honorable Mention. Murray had a 79.25 tournament scoring average over the course of the regular season and finished in the top 15 in four events. Murray had a trio of top three finishes, including one runner-up finish.

Below is the complete list of the 2020-21 MIAA Women’s Golf Awards and All-MIAA Teams.

2020-21 All-MIAA Women’s Golf Teams and Awards

Player of the Year: Jess Green – Rogers State

Freshman of the Year: Susana Olivares – Central Oklahoma

Coach of the Year: Whitney Hocutt – Rogers State

First-Team All-MIAA (listed alphabetically)

Allycia Gan – Missouri Western

Jess Green – Rogers State

Rosie Klausner – Central Missouri

Susana Olivares – Central Oklahoma

Kaylee Petersen – Northeastern State

Second-Team All-MIAA

Aitana Hernandez – Northeastern State

Elizabeth Leath – Central Missouri

Sydney Roberts – Central Oklahoma

Emma Shelley – Central Oklahoma

Claire Solovic – Central Missouri

All-MIAA Honorable Mention

Central Missouri – Olivia Sobaski

Fort Hays State – Morgan Brasser

Northeastern State – Yasmin Hang

Northeastern State – Nina Lee

Rogers State – Sydney Murray

Latest articles

Similar articles