RSU Professor Honored as Scholar of the Year

Dr Quentin TaylorDr. Quentin Taylor, Rogers State University Professor of History and Political Science, was one of two Oklahoma college educators to receive the 2014 Scholar of the Year Award from the Oklahoma Political Science Association.

The Scholar of the Year Award is meant to honor Oklahomans who have made significant scholarly contributions to political science. Dr. Taylor and Dr. Brett Sharp of the University of Central Oklahoma were named the award recipients during the OPSA annual conference on Nov. 7.

In nominating Dr. Taylor for the recognition, RSU Associate Professor of Political Science Dr. Steve Housel noted that Dr. Taylor’s contributions to the discipline of political science during the year include journal articles, encyclopedia entries, book reviews, and conference papers.  He also coordinated a grant-funded colloquium series that involved RSU faculty and students.

Dr. Taylor earned a master’s degree in history and a doctorate in political science, both from the University of Missouri-Columbia. He has taught at RSU since 2001. He is the author of “The Republic of Genius: A Reconstruction of Nietzsche’s Early Thought” and has written extensively on Plato, Machiavelli and The Federalist Papers.

The Oklahoma Political Science Association is a statewide organization of more than 200 instructors and professors in higher education who teach courses in American government.

For more information, visit

This information was submitted by RSU Public Relations Coordinator Chris Cordt. He can be reached at


Latest articles

Similar articles